Regional Director of Health Services - Polonnaruwa


Polonnaruwa District has a population of about 394,800 and spreads over an area of 3337.5 Km2. Polonnaruwa district is in the dry zone and having dry climate most of the time in the year. The district consists of 34 PHI areas and 7 Medical Officer of Health areas namely Thamankaduwa, Welikanda, Medirigiriya, Lankapura, Dimbulagala, Elahera and Hingurakgoda.

In Polonnaruwa District, 82 new Leprosy cases have been detected in the year 2016. 

The Regional Director of Health Services is responsible for all administrative matters pertaining to health in the area. To accomplish this task, the RDHS is supported by the Regional Epidemiologist, Medical Officer (Maternal & Child Health), Medical Officer (Non Communicable Diseases) and Medical Officer (Planning). Within this district level framework, the Medical Officers of Health in each MOH area is responsible for all public health related activities. Under the guidance of the Medical Officer of Health, the public health officials such as Supervising Public Health Inspector, Public Health Nursing Sisters, Public Health Inspectors and Public Health Midwives collaborate to secure and improve the health of the people in the relevant MOH areas.

The below hospitals are located in the RDHS area to provide health care services for the District.

  • Two Base Hospitals (BH Medirigiriya and BH Welikanda)
  • Nine Divisional Hospitals (Hingurakgoda, Aralaganwila, Manampitiya, Pulastigame, Bakamoona, Attanakadawala, Galamuna, Jayantipura and Diyabeduma)

Map of Polonnaruwa district with the Medical Officer of Health (MOH) areas